DUI & DWI

Greensboro DWI Attorney & DUI Attorney


Drunk driving charges in North Carolina are very serious. If convicted, you could face jail time, license suspension, and steep fines, not to mention the social stigma. Keeping this in mind, it’s important that you track down the right DUI attorney or DWI lawyer to handle your case. Too often, clients represent themselves without a DWI attorney and remain oblivious of their guaranteed rights as they fail to make proper discovery requests and proper objections.

Do not let this happen to you. With Thomas W. Smothers by your side, you will be guided through the legal system while your rights remain intact. If a conviction is inevitable, Attorney Smothers will inform you of all North Carolina Structured Sentencing Guidelines. This way, you can make the best case possible in front of a judge.  If you are in the Greensboro or High Point, NC areas and need a DUI Attorney or DWI Lawyer, then call us today.

DUI attorney Greensboro, NC

What does DWI and DUI stand for?

DUI stands for driving under the influence. It is the crime of driving a vehicle while impaired by drugs or alcohol. DWI stands for driving while intoxicated. It is the offense of drunk driving. Driving while intoxicated can lead to license suspension, fines, and jail time. The operation of a motor vehicle is illegal if your blood alcohol concentration is .08% or above. For commercial drivers it is .04%. Driving while intoxicated can have serious repercussions. Please call Thomas W. Smothers Attorney at Law for more information.


North Carolina 1st Time DUI Offenders

For first time DWI offenders, the courts recognize your unlawful action as a Misdemeanor offense. Your license will be suspended for a year. The following penalties for first time offenders include:

Ignition Interlock : For the period of one year, first time offenders are required to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. Monthly service fees and installation of the device are at the full expense of the offender.

Fines: The Courts may sentence you to jail time, however they may order you to pay a fine amount as an alternative to serving time. The fines range between $100 to 2,000 depending on your case.

DWI Assessment: The cost of a DWI assessment is $100 and you will be required to have one done.

Community Service: 24 hours of community may be required.

Jail Time: The duration of the jail sentence is determined by the court’s ultimate decision. The terms range between 24 hours to 24 months.


North Carolina 2nd Time DUI Offenders

For second time DWI offenders, the law observes your unlawful deed as a Misdemeanor offense. Your license will be revoked for 4 years. The following penalties for second time offenders include:

Ignition Interlock: For the period of one year, second time offenders are required to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. Monthly service fees and installation of the device are at the full expense of the offender.

Fines: The Courts may sentence you to jail time, however they may order you to pay a fine amount as an alternative to serving time. The fines range between $100 to 2,000 depending on your case.

DWI Assessment: The cost of a DWI assessment is $100 and you will be required to have one done.

Jail Time: The duration of the jail sentence is determined by the court’s ultimate decision. The terms range between 7 days to 12 months. However if the second offense falls with 3 years of a previous conviction, the term can be up to 1 year.


North Carolina 3rd Time DUI Offenders

For third time DWI offenders, the courts observes your unlawful conduct as a Misdemeanor offense. Your license will be revoked for 4 years if the offender has no previous offenses within the past 5 years. If the offender has a previous conviction within the last 5 years, their license will be revoked for life. The following penalties for third time offenders include:

Ignition Interlock: For the period of one year, third time offenders are required to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. Monthly service fees and installation of the device are at the full expense of the offender.

Fines: The Courts may sentence you to jail time, however they may order you to pay a fine amount as an alternative to serving time. The fines range between $100 to 2,000 depending on your case.

DWI Assessment: The cost of a DWI assessment is $100 and you will be required to have one done.

Community Service: 24 hours of community may be required.

Jail Time: The duration of the jail sentence is determined by the court’s ultimate decision. The terms range between 14 days to 2 years.


North Carolina 4th Time DUI Offenders

For fourth time DWI offenders, legislation perceives your unlawful act as a Misdemeanor offense. Following a fourth offense conviction, your license will be revoked for life. The following penalties for fourth time offenders include:

Fines: The Courts may sentence you to jail time, however they may also order you to pay a fine amount and court fees. The fines differ depending on your case.

Jail Time: The duration of the jail sentence is determined by the court’s ultimate decision. The terms range between 1 year to 3 years.

Contact Our Skilled DWI Attorney Today

If you have been charged with drunk driving, be sure to contact a DWI attorney that you can trust. Thomas W. Smothers Attorney at Law is prepared to offer assistance in all matters relating to these charges, including but not limited to:

  • License Suspensions
  • Toxilizer Assessment
  • Probable Cause Issues
  • Implied Consent Issues
Share by: